The ICF Certification process includes 3 levels organized at the global level. For each level, the future coach must follow a number of hours training and demonstrate a minimum experience.


Certified Coach

  • 60 h of training
  • 10 h of mentoring
  • 100 h of practice


Certified Coach

  • 125 h of training
  • 10 h of mentoring
  • 500 h of practice


Certified Coach

  • 200 h of training
  • 10 h of mentoring
  • 2500 h of practice

The Certification Process

The certification process is international. All countries apply the same rules and procedures and rely on the same competencies and the same ethical charter.

To obtain their certification, and depending on the level chosen (ACC, PCC or MCC), coaches present a file to ICF Global (coachfederation.org) demonstrating their level of training, their experience and take an online exam on their knowledge of coaching and the code of ethics.

This exam, called the Coach Knowledge Assessment (CKA), can be taken in English, French or German. Unlike academic certifications that validate a level of training, ICF certification validates an updated level of training and experience. Indeed, to maintain its validity, the certification must be renewed every 3 years.

For coaches who have followed a partial course with an ICF accredited school (ACSTH type) or who have followed a coaching course with a school not accredited by ICF ("portfolio course"), it is up to the future coach to prove that the training really focuses on coaching and that it promotes the 11 competencies of the coach, as defined by ICF. In both cases, certification candidates will be required to submit one (ACC level) or two (PCC and MCC levels) recordings and transcripts of coaching sessions to demonstrate their skills.